Three Sun Devil Football Student-Athletes Earn Academic Recognition By The Valley Of The Sun Chapter Of The NFF
By ,
February 22, 2017 12:56 PM

TEMPE, Arizona—Three Arizona State University football student-athletes will be honored at the 36th Annual Scholar Athlete Awards Banquet hosted by the Valley of the Sun Chapter of the National Football Foundation on April 8.


Sun Devil Laiu Moeakiola


Sun Devil football student-athletes Matt Haack, Fred Gammage and Laiu Moeakiola will be honored by the Valley of the Sun Chapter of the National Football Foundation for their excellence in academics.

Sun Devil Matt Haack

The three will be a part of a group of 50 student-athletes representing Northern and Central Arizona’s 186 high schools, three universities, and five junior colleges. Each of the honorees will receive a scholarship to further their education. Fiesta Bowl Charities helps underwrite the scholarship program, which has benefitted over 1,100 football student-athletes since 1986.

Gammage, a wide receiver, was one of two student-athletes in the Pac-12 (both from ASU) to earn a 4.0 grade-point average in the fall semester, and joined Haack in earning first-team Pac-12 All-Academic honors. Haack was named second-team All-Pac-12 this past season as a punter.

Moeakiola, a linebacker, was Honorable Mention Pac-12 All-Academic.

Also that evening, former ASU Assistant Athletics Director of Football Operations and High School Relations John Wrenn will receive the Frank Kush Lifetime Achievement Award for his dedication and service to the game and its student-athletes. Wrenn spent 23 years as a High School Head Coach in Illinois and Arizona before joining the Arizona State football staff in 2006.


The Arizona STATE Tee – Available today at #ForksUp


Leave a Reply